Indian Pharmaceutical Association (IPA)

The Indian Pharmaceutical Association (IPA) is the oldest premier association of pharmaceutical professionals in India, with a member base of over 13,000, spread across the length and breadth of the nation. IPA operates in India through 20 state branches and more than 46 local branches. The members represent various facets of pharmaceutical profession viz., industry, regulatory, community and hospital pharmacy practices and education. As a member of the Drug Technical Advisory Board, India, IPA is actively involved in advising the government on matters of professional importance. IPA is affiliated with international pharma associations like FIP, FAPA, CPA, AAPS, AAiPS and is working with international bodies such as WHO and WHPA for carrying out various collaborative professional activities that include organizing training programmes for professionals from industry, academics, regulatory and practice. IPA makes representations to the authorities on matters of professional interest and works constantly towards upgrading the standards of pharmacy professional services offered by the pharmacists. IPA’s major objective is to position pharmacists as one of the important healthcare providers in our country. IPA, Nilgiris Local Branch is involved in conducting various professional activities throughout the year and also extending the financial support to all the student members and life members to disseminate their scientific presentations in various national and international conferences, seminars, workshops etc. The World Pharmacist Day will be celebrated by IPA, Nilgiris Local Branch evey year to create awareness about the pharmacy profession among general public. Every scientific program being organized by various departments of JSS College of Pharmacy, Ooty is supported by IPA, Nilgiris Local Branch in the form of sponsoring writing note books and pens for the participants and refreshments to the participants.

Office Bearers

Dr. S P Dhanabal, Patron

Dr. Vadivelan R, President

Dr. Jawahar N, Vice President

Dr. Ganesh GNK, Honorary Secretary

Dr. Jubie S, Joint Secretary

Dr. Kalirajan R, Treasurer

Dr. Anand vijayakumar PR, Immediate Past President

Dr. Gowramma B, Member

Dr. Gowramma B, Member

Dr. Rajeshkumar R, Member

Dr. Babu B, Member